FPGA 神經網路

FPGA 設備上神經網路的推理
Artificial Intelligence of Digital Human Brain

介紹

世界上不斷增加的連通性正在產生越來越多的數據。如果應用得當,機器學習可以學習提取這些數據中的模式和交互。FPGA 技術可以提供説明。 

機器學習是人工智慧 (AI) 的一個分支,其中演算法和數據用於創建可以執行特定任務的系統。隨著處理更多數據(稱為訓練),系統的準確性會慢慢提高。一旦足夠準確,該系統就可以被認為是經過訓練的,然後部署到其他環境中。在這裡,使用相同的學習演算法來推斷結果的統計概率。這稱為推理。

神經網路構成了大多數機器學習任務的基礎。它們由多個計算層組成,其交互基於訓練期間學習的係數。 本白皮書重點介紹神經網路在FPGA器件上的推理,說明它們的優勢和劣勢。

深入了解機器學習

閱讀美國有線電視新聞網白皮書

瞭解如何使用 BittWare 的 FPGA 加速器產品加速捲積神經網路

閱讀 2D FFT 白皮書

點擊這裡

閱讀 BWNN 白皮書

了解我們如何使用 OpenCL 使 YOLOv3 機器學習框架適應我們的 FPGA 卡之一

閱讀 BWNN 白皮書

點擊這裡

FPGA 功能

神經網路的核心是大量的乘法累加計算。這些計算類比了數千個神經元的相互作用,產生了發生某事的統計可能性。對於圖像識別,這是網路正在觀察特定物件的置信因數。這當然可能是錯誤的。例如,人類經常在無生命的物體中看到人臉!因此,任何系統都需要對不正確的結果有一定的容忍度。這些結果的統計性質提供了改變計算動態範圍的機會,只要最終答案保持在應用程式容差定義的令人滿意的精度水準內。因此,推理提供了對所使用的數據類型進行創造性的機會。

數據寬度通常可以減小到8位整數,在某些情況下可以減小到一位。FPGA 可以配置為處理幾乎任何大小的數據類型,計算利用率損失很小或沒有損失。

在神經網路推理方面,ASIC、CPU、GPU 和 FPGA 各有優缺點。定製晶片 (ASIC) 提供最高的性能和最低的成本,但僅適用於目標演算法 - 沒有靈活性。 相比之下,CPU 提供最大的程式設計靈活性,但計算輸送量較低。GPU 性能通常遠高於 CPU,並且在使用大批號(即並行處理許多查詢)時會進一步提高。在延遲關鍵型實時系統中,並非總是能夠批量輸入數據。這是FPGA有些獨特的一個領域,允許神經網路針對單個查詢進行優化,同時仍能實現高水準的計算資源利用率。當 ASIC 不存在時,這使得 FPGA 成為 延遲關鍵型神經網路處理的理想選擇。

內聯處理

圖 1 顯示了 FPGA 的典型加速器卸載配置。在這裡,係數數據被更新到附加的深度DDR或HBM記憶體中,並在處理從主機傳輸的數據時由AI推理引擎訪問。對於高批量數,GPU 的性能通常優於 FPGA,但是如果小批量或低延遲是系統的首要限制,那麼 FPGA 提供了一個有吸引力的替代方案。

FPGA inference offload block diagram

圖 1:FPGA 推理卸載

FPGA 特別擅長的地方在於將 AI 推理與其他實時處理要求相結合。 FPGA 的可重新配置 IO 可以針對不同的連接問題進行定製,從高速乙太網到模擬感測器數據。這使得FPGA在不存在ASIC時在邊緣執行複雜推理方面獨樹一幟。設備還可以使用相同的 IO 以最適合應用的配置將多個 FPGA 連接在一起,或者適合現有伺服器連接。連接可以定製或遵循乙太網等標準。

Block diagram showing FPGA inference data pipeline

圖 2:在數據管道行中使用推理的示例

對於內聯處理,神經網路只需要能夠以線速處理數據。在這種情況下,FPGA將僅使用必要的資源來跟上所需的輸送量,而不會使用更多資源。這樣可以節省功耗,併為加密等其他任務留出額外的FPGA空間。

加密

在數據隱私很重要的領域,機器學習有很大的機會。例如,醫療診斷可以從雲加速中受益。但是,患者數據是保密的,並且跨多個網站進行分類。網站之間傳遞的任何數據都必須至少加密。FPGA 可以解密、執行 AI 處理和加密,所有這些都以非常低的延遲進行。至關重要的是,任何解密的數據都不會超出FPGA的範圍。

 

Block diagram showing FPGA nference decrypt encrypt

圖 3:使用 FPGA 在雲中使用解密和加密邏輯執行推理

最終,同態加密將是處理此類敏感數據的理想方法,FPGA對此顯示出前景。

針對不同的神經網路拓撲進行優化

有許多不同類型的神經網路。最常見的三種是 卷積 神經網路(CNN), 遞歸神經網路 (RNN)和最近的 基於變壓器的網路 ,如谷歌的BERT。 CNN主要用於圖像識別應用,本質上是矩陣處理問題。RNN 和 BERT 經常用於語音辨識等問題,並且效率低於 GPU 等 SIMD 處理器上的 CNN 模型。

FPGA 邏輯可以重新配置,以最好地適應神經網路的處理需求,而不是圍繞硬體(例如在 GPU 上)擬合演算法。這對於低批數尤其重要,因為增加批大小通常是處理對 GPU 具有尷尬依賴關係的網路的解決方案。

平衡計算和記憶體頻寬

Resnet是一種經常被引用的神經網路,由許多捲積層組成。但是,這些層中的大多數僅使用單個單元格 (1×1) 的範本,這是一個常見的要求。Resnet 的最後一層需要非常高的權重與數據計算的比率,因為小範本尺寸減少了可能的數據重用量。如果嘗試實現盡可能低的延遲,即批量大小為 1,則會加劇這種情況。平衡計算與記憶體頻寬對於實現最佳性能至關重要。幸運的是,FPGA支援廣泛的外部記憶體,包括DDR、HBM、GDDR和內部SRAM記憶體,如果選擇了正確的器件,則可以為給定的工作負載選擇完美的頻寬組合來進行計算。

Resnet peak bandwidth for increasing matricies sizes

圖 4:增加矩陣大小的 Resnet (224×224) 峰值頻寬要求(32 位浮點數據)

圖 4 說明瞭 Resnet 50 的 8×8、16×16、24×24、32×32、48×48 和 64×64 矩陣大小不斷增加的峰值頻寬要求。帶寬假定重量,輸入和輸出數據被讀取並寫入外部記憶體。片上SRAM記憶體用於存儲臨時累積。如果網路適合FPGA記憶體,則無需始終如一地在記憶體中讀寫特徵數據。在這種情況下,外部數據頻寬可以忽略不計。對於 int8 實現,所需的頻寬數位可以除以 4。

FPGA 供應商

Bittware與供應商無關,支援英特爾,Xilinx和Achronix FPGA技術。所有 FPGA 供應商在低延遲和低批號實現方面都表現良好,但每個元件在可配置邏輯的應用方面都存在細微差異。

阿克羅尼克斯飛車7t

Achronix的最新FPGA還具有旨在加速神經網路處理的IP。每個機器學習處理器 (MLP) 一個設備處理 32 個乘法累加器 (MAC),支援 4 到 24 位計算。支援非標準浮點格式,例如 Bfloat16。Achronix MPL 和英特爾張量元件之間的關鍵區別是緊密耦合的 SRAM 記憶體,旨在確保與去耦 SRAM 相比更高的時鐘速度。

Bittware S7t-VG6採用Speedster7t,具有2,560 MLPS,總理論峰值性能為61 TOps(int8或bfloat16)。

Achronix MLP diagram

圖5:阿克羅尼克斯MLP 3

圖6:BittWare S7t-VG6

英特爾 Stratix 10 NX 和 Agilex

英特爾 Stratix 10 NX 是英特爾首款具有專用張量算術模組的 FPGA。張量IP經過優化,可對10×3的數據塊執行張量運算(圖 5)。該IP可以配置為使用int4、int8、塊 FP12 和塊 FP16 數據類型工作,充分利用。

Stratix 10 Tensor IP diagram

圖 7:層 10 張量 IP1

Startix10 NX器件的理論峰值輸送量如表1所示。

Stratix 10 NX還具有HBM2記憶體,可提供高達512 GB / s的總頻寬,確保有足夠的頻寬來滿足所有可用的處理。

精度 性能
INT4 286 上衣
INT8 143 上衣
塊 FP12 286 全氟值
塊 FP16 143 全氟辛烷磺酸

表 1:第 10 層理論峰值輸送量

Stratix 10 NX是 Bittware 520NX 加速卡的核心。該卡具有高達 600 Gbps 的板對板頻寬,用於將多個卡連接在一起或與感測器數據通信。

英特爾敏捷克斯系列沒有張量 DSP 元件;但是,其DSP已從Stratix 10改進,以支援更多數據類型,從而增加了較低精度的算術輸送量。英特爾敏捷 M 系列的理論 Resnet-50 性能為 88 INT TOPS。阿拉伯數位

520NX Block Diagram

圖8:BittWare 520NX

AMD 賽靈思環球

Xilinx Versal 器件具有獨立的 AI 引擎,未整合到 FPGA 可程式設計邏輯中。versal AI 引擎與 FPGA 緊密耦合,但獨立於 FPGA 的其餘部分運行。數據使用片上網路 (NOC) 在 AI 引擎和 FPGA 邏輯之間傳遞。

Versal AI Engine diagram

圖 9:Versal AI 引擎

BittWare目前有一個ACAP早期訪問計劃,其概念包括採用AMD Xilinx®的7nm Versal Premium ACAP器件的雙寬PCIe Gen5加速器卡。 如需瞭解更多資訊,請訪問我們的 Versal 資訊頁面。

為神經網路程式設計 FPGA

AI工程師使用許多不同的高級工具來描述神經網路,例如PyTorch,TensorFlow,Caffe等。幸運的是,有一些API可以將AI代碼編譯為FPGA,允許工程師繼續使用現有的工具流。

Bittware擁有具有此功能的合作夥伴公司:

邊緣皮質 

EdgeCortix 動態神經加速器 (DNA) 是一種靈活的 IP 內核,用於深度學習推理,在採用 Agilex FPGA 的 BittWare 卡上具有高計算能力、超低延遲和可擴展的推理引擎。

梅格計算 

Megh Computing 的 VAS Suite 是一款智慧視頻分析解決方案,適用於需要具有企業級性能的可操作見解的安全和系統集成商,同時管理總體擁有成本考慮因素。

結論

現代 FPGA 是非常強大的 AI 處理器,擅長低延遲、小批量大小推理。當與其他處理要求相結合時,它們提供了一個強大的平臺,可以在其上創建具有獨特功能的AI系統。根據系統的需求,一個FPGA供應商可能比另一個供應商更合適。BittWare隨時準備幫助客戶根據功耗、處理和IO要求選擇合適的FPGA系統。

瞭解有關我們的 FPGA 加速卡的更多資訊→

Article

FPGA Neural Networks

The inference of neural networks on FPGA devices

Introduction

The ever-increasing connectivity in the world is generating ever-increasing levels of data. Machine learning, when applied correctly, can learn to extract patterns and interactions within this data. FPGA technology can help. 

Machine learning is a branch of artificial intelligence (AI) where algorithms and data are used to create a system that can perform a certain task. The accuracy of the system is slowly improved as more data is processed, referred to as training. Once accurate enough this system can be considered trained and then deployed in other environments. Here the same learned algorithm is used to infer the statistical probability of an outcome. This is referred to as inference.

Neural networks form the foundation of most machine learning tasks. These consist of multiple compute layers whose interactions are based on coefficients learned during training.  This whitepaper focuses on the inference of neural networks on FPGA devices, illustrating their strengths and weaknesses.

Dive Deeper into Machine Learning

Read the CNN White Paper

See how convolutional neural networks can be accelerated using FPGA accelerator products from BittWare

Read the 2D FFT White Paper

Click Here

Read the BWNN White Paper

Learn how we used OpenCL to adapt the YOLOv3 machine learning framework to one of our FPGA cards

Read the BWNN White Paper

Click Here

FPGA Capabilities

At the heart of neural networks are huge numbers of multiply accumulate calculations. These calculations simulate the interaction of thousands of neurons, producing a statistical likelihood of something occurring. For image recognition this is a confidence factor that the network is observing a particular object. It can of course be wrong. For example, humans regularly see human faces in inanimate objects! Any system will therefore require a certain tolerance to incorrect results. The statistical nature of these results provides opportunities to vary the dynamic range of the computations, so long as the final answer remains within a satisfactory level of accuracy defined by the tolerance of the application. Consequentially inference provides opportunities to be creative with data types used.

Data widths can often be reduced to 8-bit integers and in some cases can be decreased to a single bit. FPGAs can be configured to process data types of almost any size, with little or no loss in compute utilization.

In respect to neural network inference, ASICs, CPUs, GPUs and FPGAs have their advantages and disadvantages. Custom chips (ASICs) offer the highest performance and lowest cost, but only for targeted algorithms – there is no flexibility.  In contrast, CPUs offer the greatest programming flexibility, but at lower compute throughput. GPU performance is typically much higher than a CPU and improved further when using a large batch number, i.e. processing many queries in parallel. In latency critical real-time systems, it is not always possible to batch input data. This is one area where FPGAs are somewhat unique, allowing neural networks to be optimized for a single query, while still achieving a high-level compute resource utilization. When an ASIC does not exist, this makes FPGAs ideal for latency critical neural network processing.

Inline Processing

Figure 1 illustrates the typical accelerator offload configuration for an FPGA. Here coefficient data is updated load to attached deep DDR or HBM memory and accessed by the AI inference engine when processing data transferred from the host. GPUs typically outperform FPGAs for high batch numbers, however if small batch sizes or low latency are the overriding constraints of a system, then FPGAs offer an attractive alternative.

Figure 1 : FPGA Inference offload

Where FPGAs particularly excel is in the combination of AI inference with other real-time processing requirements. FPGAs’ reconfigurable IO can be customized for different connectivity problems, from high-speed Ethernet to Analog sensor data. This makes FPGAs unique for performing complex inference at the edge, when an ASIC does not exist. Devices can also use the same IO to connect multiple FPGAs together in a configuration best suited to the application or to fit within existing server connectivity. Connections can be bespoke or follow standards such as Ethernet.

Figure 2 : An example of using inference within a data pipeline line

For inline processing, a neural network need only be capable of processing data at line rate. In this case the FPGA will only use the resources necessary to keep up with the desired throughput and no more. This saves power and leaves extra FPGA real-estate for other tasks such as encryption.

Encryption

There are significant opportunities for machine learning in areas where data privacy is important. For example, medical diagnostics could benefit from cloud acceleration. However, patient data is confidential and disaggregated across multiple sites. Any data passed between sites must at least be encrypted. The FPGA can decrypt, perform AI processing, and encrypt all with very low latency. Crucially no decrypted data would leave the confines of the FPGA.

 

Figure 3 : Using an FPGA to perform inference with decryption and encryption logic in the cloud

Ultimately, Homomorphic encryption would be the desired approach for processing such sensitive data, for which FPGA’s are showing promise.

Optimizing for different neural network topologies

There are many different types of neural networks. Three of the most common are convolutional neural networks (CNNs), recurrent neural networks (RNNs) and more recently Transformer based networks such as Google’s BERT.  CNNs are mostly used for image recognition applications and are in essence matrix processing problems. RNNs and BERT are frequently used for problems such as speech recognition and are less efficient than CNN models on SIMD processers like a GPU.

FPGA logic can be reconfigured to best fit a neural networks processing demands, rather than fitting the algorithm around the hardware, such as on a GPU. This particularly important for low batch numbers, where increasing the batch size is often a solution to handling networks with awkward dependencies on GPUs.

Balancing compute and memory bandwidth

Resnet is a commonly cited neural network that consists of many convolutional layers. However, most of these layers use stencils of only a single cell (1×1), a common requirement. The final layers of Resnet require a very high ratio of weights to data calculations, as the small stencil size reduces the amount of data reuse possible. This is exacerbated if trying to achieve the lowest possible latency, i.e. a batch size of 1. Balancing compute to memory bandwidth is critical to achieving best performance. Fortunately, FPGAs support a wide range of external memories, including DDR, HBM, GDDR and internal SRAM memory, allowing the perfect combination of bandwidth to compute to be selected for a given workload if the correct device is chosen.

Figure 4:  Resnet (224×224) peak bandwidth requirement (32bit Floating point data) for increasing matrices sizes

Figure 4 illustrates the increasing peak bandwidth requirements for matrix sizes of 8×8, 16×16, 24×24, 32×32, 48×48 and 64×64 for Resnet 50. The bandwidth assumes weight, input and output data are read and written to external memory. On-chip SRAM memory is used to store temporary accumulations. If the network fits within FPGA memory, then there is no need to consistently read and write feature data to and from memory. In this case the external data bandwidth becomes negligible. For int8 implementations the required bandwidth figures can be divided by 4.

FPGA Vendors

Bittware is vendor agnostic and supports Intel, Xilinx and Achronix FPGA technologies. All FPGA vendors perform well at low latency and low batch number implementations, however each device has subtle differences in the application of the configurable logic.

Achronix Speedster 7t

The latest FPGA from Achronix also features IP designed to accelerate neural network processing. Each machine learning processor (MLP) one the device processes 32 multiply accumulators (MACs), that support 4 to 24 bit calculations. Non-standard floating-point formats are supported, such as Bfloat16. A key distinction between the Achronix MPL and the Intel tensor component, is a tightly coupled SRAM memory with the intention of ensuring higher clock speeds versus decoupled SRAM.

The Bittware S7t-VG6 features the Speedster7t with 2,560 MLPS giving a total theoretical peak performance of 61 TOps (int8 or bfloat16).

Figure 5 : Achronix MLP 3

Figure 6 : BittWare S7t-VG6

Intel Stratix 10 NX and Agilex

The Intel Stratix 10 NX was the first FPGA from Intel to feature dedicated tensor arithmetic blocks. The tensor IP is optimised to perform a tensor operation on a 10×3 block of data (Figure 5). The IP can be configured to work, fully utilised, with int4, int8, Block FP12 and Block FP16 data types.

Figure 7: Stratix 10 Tensor IP1

The theoretical peak throughput of the Startix10 NX device is shown in Table 1.

The Stratix 10 NX also has HBM2 memory providing as much as 512 GB/s aggregate bandwidth, ensuring there is enough bandwidth to feed all the available processing.

Precision Performance
INT4 286 TOPS
INT8 143 TOPS
Block FP12 286 TFLOPS
Block FP16 143 TFLOPS

Table 1: Stratix 10 Theoretical Peak Throughput

The Stratix 10 NX is at the heart of the Bittware 520NX accelerator card. The card has up to 600 Gbps board-to-board bandwidth for connecting multiple cards together or for communication to sensor data.

The Intel Agilex Series does not have tensor DSP components; however, its DSPs have been improved from Stratix 10 to support more data types, increasing lower precision arithmetic throughput. The Intel Agilex M-Series has a theoretical Resnet-50 performance of 88 INT TOPS.2

Figure 8 : BittWare 520NX

AMD Xilinx Versal

The Xilinx Versal device has separate AI engines not integrated into the FPGA programmable logic. The versal AI engine is closely coupled to the FPGA but runs independently to the rest of the FPGA. Data is passed between the AI engines and FPGA logic using a Network On Chip (NOC).

Figure 9 : Versal AI engine

BittWare’s AX-840p is a PCIe Gen5 accelerator card featuring AMD Xilinx®’s 7nm Versal Premium ACAP devices. The card offers up to 2x 400G and dual PCIe Gen5 x8 for compute-intensive workloads.

Programming FPGAs for Neural Networks

AI engineers use many different high-level tools to describe neural networks such as, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Caffe, etc. Fortunately, there are API’s available that compile AI codes to FPGA’s allowing engineers to continue to use existing tool flows.

Bittware has partner companies with this capability:

EdgeCortix 

EdgeCortix Dynamic Neural Accelerator (DNA), is a flexible IP core for deep learning inference with high compute capability, ultra-low latency and scalable inference engine on BittWare cards featuring Agilex FPGAs.

Megh Computing 

VAS Suite from Megh Computing is an intelligent video analytics solution for security and system integrators who need actionable insights with enterprise class performance, while managing TCO considerations.

Conclusion

Modern FPGAs are very capable AI processors that excel at low latency, small batch size inference. When combined with other processing requirements, they provide a powerful platform on which to create uniquely capable AI systems. Depending upon the demands of the system one FPGA vendor may prove more suitable than the other. BittWare are ready to assist customers on selecting the appropriate FPGA system based on power, processing and IO requirements.

Learn more about our FPGA accelerator cards →