白皮书

利用BittWare FPGA解决方案构建NVMe Over Fabrics

概述

自非易失性内存快车(或NVMe)协议推出以来,数据中心客户已广泛采用这项新技术,它为存储应用带来更高的性能和低延迟(Gupta,2018)。NVMe的功能集已使该技术成为市场上增长最快的存储解决方案。到2021年,国际数据公司预测,基于NVMe的存储解决方案将产生超过50%的与主要外部存储出货量相关的收入(Burgener, 2019)。

BittWare提供FPGA加速解决方案,以实现基本的硬件卸载(压缩、去重等)以及特定的应用算法,如使用FPGA进行推理的机器学习应用。这种以与NVMe相匹配的性能水平对存储进行基本和高级加速的混合,就是我们所说的计算型存储。我们的250系列产品,包括250S+、250-SoC和250-U2,专注于这个市场。

最近,NVMe联盟推出了一个名为NVMe over Fabrics(NVMe-oF)的协议变体,以利用NVMe在现有网络基础设施上的优势。随着数据中心继续看到内部NVMe存储的扩展,远程用户可以使用NVMe-oF以很少的开销访问分解的存储(Gibb,2018)。这需要在硬件中实施专门的网络堆栈,以保持NVMe的低延迟和高带宽优势。

我们的解决方案使用了带有片上ARM处理器的FPGA,即我们250-SoC板上的Xilinx Zynq MPSoC。FPGA作为NVMe-oF控制器,从CPU卸载,甚至在使用片上处理器时与CPU解耦。我们通过在FGPA逻辑中完全实现NVMe数据平面,包括网络协议栈,提供低延迟和高带宽。ARM内核在设计中使用软件来处理控制平面,其中延迟和带宽是一个较小的问题。本应用说明介绍了如何将BittWare 250-SoC配置为JBOF中的NVMe-oF控制器。

什么是NVMe Over Fabrics

NVMe-oF协议使用高速SSD技术,并将其扩展到本地服务器或数据中心之外。

NVMe-oF允许应用程序开发人员访问网络结构上的远程存储节点,如光纤通道、InfiniBand、RDMA(远程直接内存访问)聚合以太网(RoCE)、iWARP和最近的TCP/IP,同时保持低延迟(通常在100个NVMe驱动器集群的10us到大型集群的100额外微秒之间)。简而言之,NVMe-oF交易涉及一个主机和一个目标;目标是服务器在网络上暴露NVMe块存储设备供主机服务器访问(Davis,2018)。通过RDMAs,主机-目标数据传输可以在没有CPU处理交易的情况下进行;相反,专用的RNIC在资源之间传递数据,对计算资源的影响很小,因为NIC中的部分硬件管理着网络堆栈的传输层。

NVMe host software flow
NVMe Transports block diagram

为什么在NVMe-oF中使用FPGA?

当你决定将NVMe-OF卸载到PCIe卡时,你基本上有三种选择:

首先,你可以使用ASIC实现,这将是最低成本和最低延迟的选择。然而,ASIC不允许你同时卸载 "计算存储 "算法。ASIC一般也只适用于最流行的网络带宽,而这很少是最高的带宽。

第二,你可以使用具有高核心数的片上系统,这将允许你增加 "计算存储 "算法。然而,这样做需要并行编程技巧。最终的解决方案通常是这里的选择中延迟最高的,这直接违背了NVMe的低延迟价值主张。与ASIC一样,这些MPP SOC通常只适用于最流行的网络带宽,而这些带宽很少是最高带宽。

第三,你可以使用FPGA。这个选项允许你添加 "计算存储 "算法,同时保持类似ASIC的延时。这个选项还可以实现高带宽网络,如100或甚至400Gb。尽管它可能是三个选项中最昂贵的,但当你考虑到存储市场所涉及的数量时,成本差异就会变得只有一点点。

自适应存储

通过利用FPGA和SoC等技术,数据中心架构师可以进一步减少数据密集型操作在CPU之间的数据移动。通过硬件驱动的加速,用户应用程序显示出更高的性能和更低的响应时间。随着空闲CPU周期数量的增加,分配工作负载的进程利用混合系统架构,更有效地使用专用硬件和CPU。FPGA结构、它们的IO吞吐量和它们的编程灵活性促进了可重新配置的硬件与高带宽NVMe存储紧密结合的设计。例如,FPGA特别适用于压缩、加密、RAID和擦除代码、重复数据删除、键值卸载、数据库查询卸载、视频处理或NVMe虚拟化等。FPGA硬件提供了专用解决方案的性能,但也具有可重新配置的优势,可以随着数据中心需求的变化快速切换用途。

在NVMe-oF目标中使用Xilinx MPSoC

BittWare 250-SoC采用Xilinx UltraScale+ Zynq ZU19EG MPSoC,可以通过两个QSFP28端口连接到网络结构,并通过一个16通道的主机接口或四个8通道的OCuLink连接器连接到PCIe结构。这个MPSoC适配器是驱动NVMe-oF目标节点的完美平台,因为它结合了FPGA结构(也称为PL或可编程逻辑)中的数据流计算、网络IO、PCIe连接和板载ARM处理器。请注意,ARM不在数据平面内;它处理控制平面的工作。在CPU和存储端点之间放置一个专门的硬件加速器,可以创建一个优化的系统,使计算更接近数据。

2 250-SoC cards with PCIe switch and NVMe SSDs

硬件

为了演示NVMe-oF,BittWare将250-SoC放置在一个JBOF(Just-A-Bunch-Of-Flash)机箱内,该机箱内装有多个NVMe U.2硬盘,并将250-SoC板的QSFP28端口暴露在网络上。Celestica Euclid JBOF具有两个带有PCIe交换机和PCIe插槽的插入式刀片;每个抽屉充当网络结构和NVMe存储之间的管道。NVMe数据包从QSFP28端口转到FPGA结构,然后经过PCIe主机接口、JBOF的PCIe交换机,最后到达NVMe驱动器。在这个实施方案中,250-SoC的OCuLink连接器没有被使用,但在不同的硬件平台上,它们可以容纳这种设计的电缆版本,PCIe交易将通过电缆运行。

Celestia Euclid JBOF illustration

闸道器

该设计实现了RoCE v2的NVMe-oF目标(符合NVMe 1.2和NVMe-oF 1.0规范),支持明确的拥堵管理。针对MPSoC的IP使用了几个赛灵思的IP库块,所有的数据面都是通过512位AXI总线以200MHz的速度互连的。赛灵思嵌入式RDMA NIC处理100Gb/s的网络流量,而PCIe root complex IP核管理与驱动多达24个驱动器的JBOF电路的16通道PCIe 3.0接口的连接,而DMA核控制AXI总线上的高速数据传输。此外,NVMe-oF目标核心通过100Gb/s的数据路径管理多达256个队列,而运行在四核A53 ARM处理器上的固件处理存储节点的高级管理。

NVMe over fabric block diagram

最大限度地提高性能

MPSoC PL可以容纳数据路径的最大带宽。因此,为了展示整个系统的最大能力,主机必须产生尽可能接近100Gb/s的网络流量。为了进行基准测试,几个NVMe-oF主机连接到一个网络交换机,然后可以将最大的数据吞吐量输送到JBOF中运行NVMe-oF目标的250-SoC MPSoC卡。该参考设计显示了大约2.5 MIOPS的随机读取性能和超过1.1M的随机写入性能,同时显示了105us的应用延时。

可重新配置的硬件解决方案的优势

与软件(CPU+外部网卡+SPDK)或RNIC解决方案(CPU+集成网卡)相比,基于MPSoC的NVMe-oF解决方案具有若干优势。如果基于MPSoC的解决方案与其他产品相比具有相对较高的成本和功耗,那么从带宽、可配置性和延迟的角度来看,这种技术要优于竞争对手。类似地,对于RNIC解决方案,MPSoC的NVM-oF将使网络接口的吞吐量达到饱和。然而,MPSoC的硬件实现提供了其他解决方案所不具备的灵活性和适应性水平。因此,这种自适应硬件可以针对特定领域的应用,允许系统架构师将客户定义的功能(RAID,或随着规范发展的新NVMe功能)与主IP相结合,并增强整个系统的功能集。另一个选择是添加自定义加速器,如加密或压缩,以在一个盒子里结合两种功能。最后,解决方案供应商可以创建针对特定用途的硬件产品,如视频处理(例如,视频编解码器)或人工智能工作负载进行优化。通过将存储管理等IT功能与通常由昂贵的计算节点执行的任务相结合,CPU从不得不执行高带宽的IO传输中解脱出来,被重新用于更多的计算关键操作。从延迟的角度来看,基于MPSoC的解决方案提供了比CPU驱动的替代品更低和可预测的延迟。

illustration of Euclid JBOF solution

总结

随着NVMe在过去几年的成熟,它为NVMe-oF铺平了道路,现在它为分解的存储环境提供了与NVMe类似的好处(Weaver,2019)。该技术提高了计算和存储节点的利用率,同时提高了数据中心的敏捷性和性能(Waever,2019)。NVMe-oF允许开发人员以新颖的方式瞄准应用程序,例如,需要在庞大的数据集(几百PB)上随机读取的人工智能工作负载将大大受益于这项技术(Hemsoth,2019)。FPGA和MPSoC在NVMe-oF协议的基础上提供了一个额外的创新层;这些设备中的可编程逻辑允许设计能够处理高带宽数据传输、低延迟的系统架构,同时还可以为优化或特定应用定制而保持可配置。BittWare提供一系列的NVMe加速选项,包括NVMe-oF--请与我们联系以了解更多。

参考文献

White Paper

Building NVMe Over Fabrics with BittWare FPGA Solutions

Overview

Since the introduction of the Non-Volatile Memory Express (or NVMe) protocol, data center customers have broadly adopted this new technology, which brings higher performance and low latency to storage applications (Gupta, 2018). The feature set of NVMe has made the technology the fastest-growing storage solution in the market. By 2021, International Data Corporation predicts that NVMe-based storage solutions will be generating more than 50% of the revenues associated with primary external storage shipments (Burgener, 2019).

BittWare provides FPGA acceleration solutions to implement basic hardware offloads (compression, de-duplication, etc.) plus application-specific algorithms such as machine learning applications using FPGAs for inference. This mix of basic and advanced acceleration of storage at performance levels matching NVMe is what we call computational storage. Our 250 series of products, including the 250S+, 250-SoC, and 250-U2, focus on this market.

Recently the NVMe consortium introduced a variant of the protocol called NVMe over Fabrics (NVMe-oF), to leverage the benefits of NVMe over existing network infrastructures. As data centers continue to see an expansion of on-premise NVMe storage, remote users can access disaggregated storage with little overhead using NVMe-oF (Gibb, 2018). This requires implementing a specialized network stack in hardware to maintain the NVMe advantages of low latency and high bandwidth.

Our solution uses an FPGA with on-chip ARM processor, the Xilinx Zynq MPSoC on our 250-SoC board. The FPGA acts as the NVMe-oF controller, offloading from the CPU or even decoupled from the CPU when using the on-chip processor. We deliver low latency and high bandwidth by fully implementing the NVMe data plane in FGPA logic, including the network protocol stack. The ARM core is in the design to handle the control plane using software where latency and bandwidth are less of an issue. This Application Note describes how to configure the BittWare 250-SoC as an NVMe-oF controller in a JBOF.

What is NVMe Over Fabrics

The NVMe-oF protocol uses the high-speed SSD technology and expands it beyond a local server or data center.

NVMe-oF allows the application developer to access remote storage nodes on network fabrics such as Fiber Channel, InfiniBand, RDMA (Remote Direct Memory Access) over Converged Ethernet (RoCE), iWARP and more recently TCP/IP while keeping latency low (typically between 10us for a cluster of a 100 NVMe drives to 100 additional microseconds for large clusters). In short, an NVMe-oF transaction involves a host and a target; the target is the server exposing the NVMe block storage devices across the network for the host server to access (Davis, 2018). With RDMAs, the host-target data transfers can occur without the CPU handling the transaction; instead, dedicated RNICs pass the data between resources with a low impact on computing resources as the part of the hardware in the NIC manages the transport layer of the network stack.

Why use FPGA for NVMe-oF?

You basically have three choices when you decide to offload NVMe-OF into a PCIe card:

First, you can use an ASIC implementation, which would be the lowest cost and lowest latency choice. However ASICs don’t allow you to also offload “computational storage” algorithms. ASICs are also generally only available for the most popular network bandwidths, which are rarely the highest bandwidths.

Second, you could use a system-on-a-chip with a high core count, which would allow you to add “computational storage” algorithms. However, doing so requires parallel programming skills. The ultimate solution is generally the highest latency of the choices here which works directly against NVMe’s low-latency value proposition. Like ASICs, these MPP SOCs are generally only available for the most popular network bandwidths which are rarely the highest bandwidths.

Third, you can use an FPGA. This option allows you to add “computational storage” algorithms while maintaining ASIC-like latency. This option also enables high-bandwidth networks such as 100 or even 400Gb. Although it may be the most expensive of the three options, the cost difference becomes only slightly higher when you consider the volumes involved in storage markets.

Adaptive Storage

By leveraging technologies like FPGAs and SoCs, datacenter architects can further reduce data movement to/from the CPU for data-intensive operations. With hardware-driven acceleration, user applications show higher performance and lower response times. As the number of free CPU cycles increases, the processes distributing workloads take advantage of the hybrid system architecture using dedicated hardware and the CPU more efficiently. The FPGA fabric architecture, their IO throughput, and their programming flexibility facilitate the design of reconfigurable hardware tightly coupled with high-bandwidth NVMe storage. FPGAs are particularly suitable for compression, encryption, RAID and erasure code, data deduplication, key-value offload, database query offload, video processing, or NVMe virtualization, for example. FPGA hardware offers the performance of a dedicated solution but also has the advantage of being reconfigurable quickly switching purpose as the datacenter needs change over time.

Using a Xilinx MPSoC for NVMe-oF Target

The BittWare 250-SoC features a Xilinx UltraScale+ Zynq ZU19EG MPSoC and can connect to both the network fabric through two QSFP28 ports and the PCIe fabric through a 16-lane host interface or four 8-lane OCuLink connectors. This MPSoC adaptor is a perfect platform to drive an NVMe-oF target node as it combines data stream compute in the FPGA fabric (also called, PL, or Programmable Logic), network IO, PCIe connectivity, and an onboard ARM processor. Note that the ARM is not in the data plane; it handles control plane work. Placing a dedicated hardware accelerator between the CPU and storage endpoints creates a system optimized to compute closer to the data.

The Hardware

To demonstrate NVMe-oF, BittWare places the 250-SoC inside a JBOF (Just-A-Bunch-Of-Flash) chassis populated with several NVMe U.2 drives and exposes the QSFP28 ports of the 250-SoC board to the network. The Celestica Euclid JBOF features two plug-in blades with a PCIe switch and a PCIe slot; each drawer acts as the conduit between the network fabric and the NVMe storage. The NVMe packets transit from the QSFP28 ports to the FPGA fabric, and then they go through the PCIe host interface, the JBOF’s PCIe switch, before finally reaching the NVMe drives. In this implementation, the 250-SoC OCuLink connectors are not in use, but in a different hardware platform, they could accommodate a cabled version of this design where PCIe transactions would run over cables.

The Gateware

The design implements an NVMe-oF target for RoCE v2 (NVMe 1.2 and NVMe-oF 1.0 spec compliant) which supports explicit congestion management. The IP targeting the MPSoC uses several of Xilinx IP library blocks all interconnected through a 512-bit AXI bus running at 200MHz for the data plane. The Xilinx Embedded RDMA NIC processes the 100Gb/s network traffic, while a PCIe root complex IP core manages the connectivity to the 16-lane PCIe 3.0 interface to the JBOF circuitry driving up to 24 drives, and a DMA core controls the high-speed data transfers over the AXI bus. Additionally, the NVMe-oF target core manages up to 256 queues over the 100Gb/s data path while firmware running on the quad-core A53 ARM processor handles high-level administration of the storage node.

Maximizing Performance

The MPSoC PL can accommodate the maximum bandwidth of the data path. Therefore, to demonstrate the maximum capabilities of the overall system, the host must generate network traffic as close to 100Gb/s as possible. For benchmarking, a couple of NVMe-oF hosts connect to a network switch which then can feed the maximum data throughput to the 250-SoC MPSoC card running the NVMe-oF target in the JBOF. This reference design shows around 2.5 MIOPS random read performance and over 1.1M random write performance while showing an application latency of 105 us.

Advantages of Reconfigurable Hardware Solutions

An MPSoC-based NVMe-oF solution presents several advantages compared to a software (CPU + external NIC + SPDK) or an RNIC solution (CPU + integrated NIC). If an MPSoC-based solution has a relatively high cost and power consumption compared to other products, such technology outperforms the competition from a bandwidth, configurability, and latency perspective. Similarly, to an RNIC solution, the MPSoC NVMe-oF will saturate the network interface throughput. However, the MPSoC hardware implementation offers levels of flexibility and adaptability that other solutions do not have. This adaptive hardware can, therefore, target domain-specific applications allowing system architects to combine customer defined features (RAID, or new NVMe features as the spec evolves) with the primary IP and enhance the overall system feature set. Another option is to add custom accelerators like encryption or compression, for example, to combine two functions in one box. Finally, solution providers can create application-specific hardware products optimized for a specific purpose like video processing (video codec, for example) or artificial intelligence workloads. By combining an IT function like storage management with a task typically performed by an expensive compute node, the CPU gets relieved from having to perform high-bandwidth IO transfers and gets repurposed to more compute critical operations. From a latency perspective, the MPSoC-based solution provides a low and predictable latency over CPU-driven alternatives.

Conclusion

As NVMe matured over the last few years, it has paved the way for NVMe-oF, which now offers similar benefits to NVMe to disaggregated storage environments (Weaver, 2019). The technology has improved compute and storage nodes utilization while increasing agility and performance in the data center (Waever, 2019). NVMe-oF allows developers to target applications in novel ways, for example, AI workloads which require random reads over vast datasets (several 100s PB) will significantly benefit from this technology (Hemsoth, 2019). FPGA and MPSoC provide an extra layer of innovation on top of the NVMe-oF protocol; the programmable logic in these devices allows the design of system architecture that can handle high bandwidth data transfers, low latency while also remaining configurable for optimizations or application-specific customization. BittWare offers a range of NVMe acceleration options including for NVMe-oF — get in touch with us to learn more.

References

  • Burgener E. (2019). Three Providers of High-Performance Storage Interconnect NVMe over TCP Named IDC Innovators. AP News. Retrieved May 6th, 2019, from https://www.apnews.com/Business%20Wire/3658112a227e4eaa854fd42ae95053bd
  • Gibb S. (2018). FPGA Accelerator Disaggregation Using NVMe-over-Fabrics. SNIA. Retrieved July 1st, 2019, from https://www.snia.org/educational-library/fpga-accelerator-disaggregation-using-nvme-over-fabrics-2018
  • Gupta R. (2018). What is NVMe™, and why is it important? A Technical Guide. Western Digital Blog. Retrieved June 24th, 2019, from https://blog.westerndigital.com/nvme-important-data-driven-businesses/
  • Hemsoth N. (2019). Existing Storage Infrastructure is the Bottleneck for AI. Next Platform. Retrieved May 6th, 2019, from https://www.nextplatform.com/2019/06/03/existing-storage-infrastructure-is-the-bottleneck-for-ai/
  • Robinson D. (2019). VAST Data guarantees no downtime, no data loss. Blocks & Files. Retrieved May 6th, 2019, from https://blocksandfiles.com/2019/06/05/vast-data-zero-compromise-guarantee/
  • Rouse M. (2019). Computational Storage. Tech Target. Retrieved June 24th, 2019, from https://searchstorage.techtarget.com/definition/computational-storage
  • Weaver E. (2019). Top 5 Reasons M&E Needs NVMe Now. Media & Entertainment Service Alliance. Retrieved May 6th, 2019, from https://www.mesalliance.org/2019/06/05/top-5-reasons-me-needs-nvme-now/